top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMs Holden

The evolution of my inquiry

As one can read in the description of this blog, my initial interest in coming to The Netherlands was to explore dutch vocational agricultural education and extract the best practices of Dutch vocational training to improve the American system. I made the presumption that a tiny country that is an international agricultural powerhouse MUST be doing some AMAZING things in their delivery of content and knowledge to create a capable and innovative work force. I had some concern that the attributes of Dutch Agricultural Education were going to be primarily cultural. I can do very little to bring culture back to the US - I cannot change how families raise their children, nor can I influence the companies that receive our students as employees.


Certainly there are aspects of Dutch vocational education that I can modify and use in an American setting, but I am increasingly perplexed by the culture of education and the lack of high expectations for Dutch students. I am hesitant to criticize Dutch instructional practices and the comparably lower expectations of students. I cannot be critical because when we look at the data, Dutch students are happier, less bullied and higher performing when compared to American students. American teachers may do more rigorous lessons and critical thinking activities, but do our efforts match our outcomes? Students in the Netherlands, even if they earn the lowest possible degree in the educational system, still have the equivalent of a high school diploma and two years of vocational training. At the very minimum, a Dutch student can get a job that pays them enough to be a functional member of society. I do not feel that the high school diploma alone does as much for American students. In my experience, most US students that stop their education at a high school diploma - and go on to be successful - have a unique niche, informal education from family or community, or something special that enables them to become contributors to society. We have all heard that Bill Gates dropped out of college, and we love to try and make his story the rule as opposed to the exception that it is. School and teachers are not a reason for successful students, but rather a tool in the greater system to create successful students.


I've modified my final project to be a school application where I create an American school with Dutch qualities. I needed something more tangible than just a paper comparing and contrasting the two systems. It will be my own version of the New School Design project from Columbia Teacher's College SPA. I cannot complete the entire application, as that process in Massachusetts takes roughly 18 months. Instead, I will focus on the agriculture program within my dream school. My project is still about post-secondary options, but addressing how to put students further ahead on their post-secondary path. I still have more to unpack regarding my "dream school" and of course about Dutch V. American education. It is my evolution of ideas...


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page