top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMs Holden

Day 1 fun: Bitterballen, bicycles, and fighting ducks

Technically, my first day was January 9th, having landed at 9am - and aside from being amazed by myself getting the train and the bus on my own, and getting to my apartment problem free - not much happened. Today, however, I conquered jet lag, found the grocery store and ate the dutch-est street food. In 24-hours of "hanging out" in Utrecht, I feel as though I've had a good introduction with dutch culture and dutch people. The city has a definite pulse running through it, and the copious amount of bikes moving through the city is the blood pushing Utrecht's rhythm.

As I observe the city and take in dutch culture, I find myself amazed at how similar the Netherlands is to the Northeastern US, with just a few stark differences that shine through. I see so many similarities between the urban hustle and bustle of NYC as compared to Utrecht, and with the urban "look" - dark colors, sensibly stylish shoes and a determined focused look as people move between their point A and point B. What strikes me as unique is the same-ness. I don't want to be rude and say "everyone looks alike" - that's not it at all. Of all the people I saw today, no one was exceptionally slim, no one was morbidly obese, and the bicycles are pretty much the same style. I've heard that the dutch are very much logical and functional people and in this case, if the model ain't broke, don't fix it. I also don't want to offend anyone - one can see how Disney World is modeled after cities such as Utrecht. Very narrow streets, beautiful store fronts - many of which have ornate signs perpendicular to the exterior wall - it is extremely picturesque. I also despise being "that" American that compares Europe to Disney World, but that and Oranjestad, Aruba were on my mind as I perused Utrecht today.


I have more to say on bicycles and dutchness, but that can wait. I want to close with bitterballen and frites. Tasty treats and I will say that frite sauce is not mayonnaise. Perhaps in my agricultural and gastronomical experiences, I will learn the actual ingredients of frite sauce, because it is definitely not straight up Hellman's mayonnaise. My dear dutch friends, Lieke and Penny, both said that the dutch eat their fries with mayonnaise - but it's not American mayonnaise. What is American, apparently, is creamy peanut butter, pindakaas. While grocery shopping today, the label stated "American Style - Extra Creamy" with a bright red star behind it. So there you go - America = extra creamy.



But Ashley - what's up with the fighting ducks? No, I didn't run into Emilio Estevez on Keizerstraat - those were mighty ducks. I was walking around the old town "Oudegracht" and crossing over a canal when I heard a duck or gull or some aquatic bird I've never seen before having an absolute fit. I raised ducks both at home and at school, and I know when a duck is annoyed. I look down, and drifting down the canal is this aquatic bird standing on a piece of plywood, and a second duck having an absolute fit that it is there - quacking and squawking and pecking at its feet. And there was the top duck, standing upon his little trash raft being totally unaffected by this other duck's protests. I felt like a foolish tourist taking a picture - and it was so unfortunate that no on else on the street looked down to observe this avian exchange. It certainly made me laugh and I couldn't help but appreciate the dutchness of the top duck - very logical and not emotional as he drifted down the canal.


28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page